Time to Beef Up!

Beef with Broccoli

This recipe is way better than any beef and broccoli dish you will find on a chinese restaurant menu. The beef is actually beef and the broccoli is fresh! I found the recipe on pinterest and decided to try it mainly because of the broccoli part. Like most kids, I do not eat my veggies like I should, but I do like broccoli and love my red meat. Therefore when I saw this recipe combining the two of them, I knew it would be a winner for my taste buds!
It is a simple meal to prepare, but does take an hour for the beef to marinade. Cooking the meal was fast though, which is always a bonus for me. The beef marinade was delicious and went great when stirred together with the broccoli. I read that you could use frozen broccoli, but I highly recommend using fresh. I think it cooks a lot better. Also be sure to let the meat marinade for the full-time to get the full taste! This recipe will be one I cook over and over again.

Below is the recipe and directions! Enjoy and say goodbye to chinese take out containers!

Marinate ingredients:

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp sugar

1 Tbsp cornstarch

1 Tbsp soy sauce

1 Tbsp water

2 Tbsp vegetable oil

1 1/2 lbs flank steak (cut into thin strips)

Whisk together baking soda, cornstarch, soy sauce, water and vegetable oil. Toss in steak and coat completely. Cover and refrigerate for 1 hour.

1/2 cup soy sauce

2 Tbsp brown sugar

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tbsp flour

1 Tbsp sherry

3 Tbsp vegetable oil

2 heads of broccoli, crowns only

Directions:

1) In a small bowl combind soy sauce, garlic, brown sugar, flour and sherry until smooth. Set aside

2) In a large wok or saute pan heat 2 Tbsp of vegetable oil over high heat until shimmering. Add broccoli and saute 3 min, stirring often. Transfer broccoli to another plate.

3) Careful add the remaining Tbsp of oil to the hot pan. Add the marinated meat and half of the sauce mixture and saute for 3-4 min, stirring often until the meat is cooked through. Stir in the broccoli and remaining sauce. Saute one more min and serve.

 240942648783915076_NyZVqkHT_c

http://www.therecipecritic.com/2012/11/slow-cooker-beef-and-broccoli.html

One thought on “Time to Beef Up!

  1. I love Chinese food so this is perfect for me, but I don’t think mine would turn out half as good as it looks in the picture. Now I can add this to the list of the 3 other things I know how to cook. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

