I was Dreaming while it was “Cooking.”

Two recipes in and I am 1-1.

It all started when I received a brand new crock pot for Christmas. Eager to try it out I began to search for recipes on Pinterest that I could make in my new crock pot. I came across a recipe for over night crock pot french toast. It was perfect! I love french toast and I love not making breakfast in the morning. All I had to do for this recipe was combined all the ingredients in the crock pot at once and let it sit over night to cook 6 hours. Then I would wake up to a fully cooked, delicious smelling breakfast! Sounds too good to be true, right? It was.

I wake up the next morning to find a burnt loaf of bread in my crock pot. It smelled awful and I couldn’t even stick a knife through it. I wish I could tell you what went wrong, but unfortunately I was dreaming while it was “cooking”. I spent the next three days trying to scrub clean my new crock pot. Lesson learned. No more crock pot over night breakfast recipes for this girl. If you are brave enough to try this recipe on your own below is the ingredients and directions. Hope you have better luck than I did!

Ingredients:

1/2 loaf of bread.  (Break up bread in half pieces.)dscn2961

Combine:

6 eggs, 2 c milk, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tbsp light brown sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla.

Pour over bread if you’ve already placed in the crock pot.  I was worried I find out the next day that not all the bread had gotten saturated so I dunked my pieces individually and layered them.  Set crockpot to lowest setting.  Cooking takes at least 6 hours.

In the morning you will find a fluffly, bread pudding-souffle like breakfast.  Remove the lid about 15 minutes before its done and it will brown and toast.  Serve with warm syrup!!  Serves 4-6 depending on how hungry your guests are.dscn2972

 

http://thecakeeccentric.wordpress.com/2010/12/05/brunch-crock-pot-french-toast/

Leave a Reply

