Breakfast of Champions!

Pumpkin French Toast
Another recipe on French toast, but this time I won’t steer you wrong! This recipe also takes a spin on French toast from making it the traditionally way. All the prep work you do the night before then its ready to cook in the morning. No griddle needed and this way the bread has plenty of time to soak in all the pumpkin goodness. I know I am a sucker for French toast, but I have never been so excited to jump out of bed on at Saturday morning to preheat the oven! This recipe is actually recommended for the fall time, and great for Thanksgiving, but I will be making this breakfast all year round.
The bread soaked up the entire pumpkin flavor and baked for a perfect crust texture. Top this bad boy off with a little maple syrup and you will be in love. I made this recipe for my family and everybody loved it! It also makes great reheats so you can spread the joy for several mornings. Breakfast of Champions!

IngrediePumpkin-french-toast-the-pourpumpkin-french-toast-so-yummynts and Directions below! Enjoy!

    Ingredients
  •    3½ – 4½ cups 1-inch bread cubes (depending on type of bread)
  •    7 large eggs
  •    2 cups milk (any kind)*
  •    1 tsp vanilla extract
  •    1½ tsp pumpkin pie spice
  •    ¼ cup pumpkin BUTTER (or ½ cup pumpkin puree)*
  •    3-4 tablespoons brown sugar for topping
  •    nuts, like pecan or walnuts (optional)
 Instructions
  1. Cut any kind of bread into 1-inch cubes – I recommend a crusty, whole grain variety, but sandwich bread will work, too. Just use enough slice to fill a lightly greased 9×13 baking dish quite full.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, vanilla, pumpkin butter and pie spice until well combined. Pour over bread and push down with a spoon or your hands until it’s all soaked and mostly covered. Cover with saran wrap or lid and refrigerate overnight.
  3. In the morning, preheat oven to 350 degrees, uncover and top with brown sugar, additional pumpkin pie spice and nuts (optional). Bake for 35-45 minutes or golden brown and no longer wet.
  4. Serve immediately with maple syrup, honey or agave nectar. Store leftovers in the refrigerator covered for up to a couple days.

http://minimalistbaker.com/pumpkin-french-toast-bake/ 

4 thoughts on “Breakfast of Champions!

  1. I absolutely love pumpkin butter and/or pumpkin spice too! This dish sounds awesome I think i might have to try this, it doesn’t seem that hard to make. Thanks for posting this.

  2. This blog really makes me makes me hungry. Anyways, I’ve tried making french toast once before and it turned out not so good, but I am a huge fan of pumpkin and spice flavor so I think I might have to try it again. Great instructions!

  3. I’ve never ever even heard of pumpkin french toast but i love french toast and love pumpkin and feel the combination would be amazing, although I’m probably to lazy to ever actually make this recipe maybe someday i won’t be, or I’ll go somewhere that has it, like maybe Ihop perhaps?

Leave a Reply

